Bad Panda Records

One free song every monday!

[BadPanda078] Marco Mahler – Hike The Lake

with one comment

Marco Mahler is a kinetic sculptor and a musician. His kinetic art has been featured at numerous galleries, events and public spaces in New York City and all around the USA. For his music, he lists Outkast, Bert Jansch, Lou Reed and Stephen Malkmus as main influences and he already released two albums, packed of gentle, calming and looping melodies.

“Hike the Lake” is a wonderful instrumental that builds from a single guitar, slowly filling in with keyboards and percussion. Simple, beautiful, sincere music.

Marco Mahler – Hike The Lake [mp3] [ogg]

[website]
[twitter]
[facebook]
[bandcamp]

Where do you live actually?

In a small ranch house in the Foster-Powell neighborhood in Portland, Oregon, USA, with my wife and our two boys.

What is the last thing you ate?

An apple.

Your addiction ?

Trying to run my head democratically.

What do you collect?

Dust when I stand still.

What is your favorite word?

I haven’t slept enough in a long time, so I’m gonna go with “sleep” right now.

One quote?

“It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.” – Unknown

One movie?

Fellini’s 8 1/2

One book?

“How To Get Around To Everything You Are Planning On” by Justin Case. I haven’t read it yet but I’m planning on it.

Which song do you listen when you wake up?

It’s some annoying beeping sound on my cell phone. It makes me jump up and turn it off as quickly as possible. If I picked something I like, I would sleep right through it.

A song you wish you wrote yourself?

A song that combines the lyrical mind-frame of mid-sixties Bob Dylan with the vocal energy of André Benjamin of Outkast and the production of Radiohead’s “Kid A”.

The song to be played at your funeral?

If there are any musicians at my funeral, I would want them to play whatever they felt like playing.

A song for relaxing on a beach?

The sound of the ocean is more than relaxing enough for me.

One website?

http://www.marcomahler.etsy.com where I sell my mobiles and kinetic sculptures.

What do you think about music industry and filesharing/internet as a promotion tool?

It didn’t level the playing field as much as many people thought it would. The bigger marketing budget still wins most of the time.

Favourite venue?

It used to be Dog Bar in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, Mona’s in the East Village, and Ridge Street on the Lower East Side. I haven’t found a new one yet.

Favourite place on earth?

It used to be Williamsburg, Brooklyn, but it changed so much. I’m still looking for a new one.

Where would you wish to wake up tomorrow?

Same place where I went to sleep.

And feel free to add anything else you want.

Groucho Marx: “If you take cranberries and stew them like applesauce they taste much more like prunes than rhubarb does. Now you tell me what you know.”

Written by badpandarecords

18/04/2011 at 5:21 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Bad Panda Records [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,340 other followers

