Bad Panda Records

One free song every monday!

[BadPanda145] Naked House – Youforia

leave a comment »

Naked House is Damon Guyett, a Canadian multi-instrumentalist based in Waterdown, Ontario.

Here’s free to download an ambient piano piece reminiscent of Brian Eno’s Music For Airports album.


[soundcloud]
[facebook]
[twitter]
[bandcamp]
[tumblr]

Naked House – Youforia [mp3]

Where do you live actually?

Currently I live in the small but rapidly expanding village of Waterdown, Ontario. 15 minutes North of my home-city of Hamilton.

What is the last thing you ate?

A gratuitous amount of Swedish Fish candy.

Your addiction?

Unfortunately it’s tobacco. Trying super hard to quit smoking cigarettes, but I’ve fallen into the habit of mixing tobacco with my weed so it’s even trickier to quit. No self-control.

What is your favourite word?

Petrichor: the scent of rain on dry earth.

What sound or noise do you love ?

Again, rain. I love being out in the street, getting soaked and hearing nothing but the constant, gentle hammering of raindrops landing on the pavement and the trees

What is your most recent extravagance?

A couple weeks ago, as a birthday gift to myself, I spent about $130 on re-piercing my ears and right eyebrow. Quite seldom does my bank account allow such a splurge.

One movie?

The Wrestler. Mickey Rourke is, in my mind, a powerful yet highly underrated actor and one of my all-time favourites. I couldn’t imagine any other actor portraying Randy “The Ram” Robinson so convincingly, you’d believe Mickey was an actual wrestler, not an film star. An incredibly compelling flick. Aronofsky’s best movie, yes even better than the overrated Black Swan.

One book?

I’m not the kind of guy to read books more than once, and I likely never will be, but the one book I would come close to reading again would be Life of Pi. The one book I can remember having trouble putting down. Excited to know that a film adaptation is set to be released in November of this year. Hope to God the world doesn’t end before then. Brilliant storytelling.

A song you wish you wrote yourself?

Oh there’s a ton, but one off the top of my head would be “Yeah! Oh, Yeah!” by the Magnetic Fields. Such a clever duet, with a common-as-hell chord progression, but with lyrics that sting with so much honesty and rub it in with a pinch of humour. “Could you really kill your wife?” “Yeah!, oh yeah!”. Sometimes, I think I’m pretty funny. Then I read many of Stephin Merritt’s lyrics… hilariously heartbreaking.The song to be played at your funeral?It would be a dream of mine if someone did a rendition of one of my own tunes at my funeral, I don’t care which one. Maybe “Even If Yer Angry”.

A song for relaxing on a beach?

“Sloop John B” by the Beach Boys.

Your Sunday morning track?

“Sunday Morning” by Velvet Underground, then it’s “Lazing on a Sunday Afternoon” by Queen for the remainder of the day.

One website?

Soundcloud, all the way.

Favorite venue or club?

The Casbah Lounge in Hamilton, by no means a dive, many excellent bands roll through here. I’ve seen Northcote (Matt Goud, formerly of Means). I’m a sucker for outdoor festivals like Burlington’s Sound of Music Festival, newer bands like Born Ruffians and Arkells are playing this year, but Tokyo Police Club remains my must-see-band at this festival.

Best concert attended?

Queen + Paul Rodgers at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, March 2006. Despite the only original members being Brian May and Roger Taylor, the band still put on an amazing show and they still play phenomenally. During “Bohemian Rhapsody”, Freddie Mercury appeared on the screen singing the “mama” verses as part of a clip from Queen’s Wembley ’86 show. When the gong hit, a clip played of Freddie taking a bow and faded to black. Yes, I cried.

Favourite place on earth?

That’s easy, my room. Wherever I make it.

Where would you wish to wake up tomorrow?

I wish I’d wake up in a motel room in Toronto, the morning of my solo gig at Massey Hall. *sigh*

Written by badpandarecords

30/08/2012 at 11:50 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,333 other followers

