Bad Panda Records

[BadPanda126] Anon – Jungle Rag

leave a comment »

Anon is blooming. This mysterious London-based producer is making experimental electronic sounds dipping into trip hop beats and the new track is all about heavy delays and bassy sounds. After having remixed Young Magic (mp3 via Clash Music), he’s just put out an exclusive mix for Dazed Digital. Look for the debut LP soon and listen to the other tracks on his website.

Anon – Jungle Rag [mp3]

[website]
[soundcloud]
[facebook]

 Jungle Rag video directed by Oliver Jennings.

Where do you live actually?

North London, just near the Arsenal.

What is the last thing you ate?

Toast – with my coffee – still waking up.

Your addiction ?

My computer – sad but I am hooked to it – on the internet, working, making music.  I wish it wasn’t so but there we go.

What sound or noise do you love?

Crumpling leaves at the moment. I have got into a new habit of walking around with my headphones plugged into my field recorder, turned up really loud, so you’re ears become hyper-sensitive. Then just hitting shit, standing on stuff and listening in on people. It’s a bit weird and voyeuristic but you can get lost and everything draws your attention . I really recommend it.

What do you collect?

Records, Books, shit facts.

What is your favorite word?

This changes regularly – today its ‘meek’

Who is the most interesting person you’ve ever met?

John Peel – no doubt. A legend.

What is your most recent extravagance?

An electronic drum kit – especially as I hadn’t learned how to drum yet. I am learning at the moment.

One quote?

“Blessed are the Cheesemakers”

One movie?

In reference to the above – Life of Brian

One book?

The Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat – Oliver Sachs. Fascinating.

The song to be played at your funeral?

Always look on the Bright Side of Life – Monty Python. I fucking hate dark funerals. Make them laugh.

A song you wish you wrote yourself?

Too many to choose – so an epic one I suppose – Paranoid Android – Radiohead.

Which song do you listen to when you wake up?

Sorry – I am Radio 4 all the way (BBC talk radio) then I have no repeat patterns. That would be a shame. I need change musically as everything else is exactly the same each morning

A song for relaxing on a beach?

All this music stuff changes daily – today – Beirut – Postcards From Italy (and the Italian reference is a coincidence)

Your sunday morning track?

Probably something classical, Sibelius? I don’t know that much about classical music but if there is a time meant for it, it is Sunday morning whilst making a roast.

One website?

Guardian.co.uk

What do you think about music industry?

Its a bit fucked but on the way back from massive turmoil. I went to see Flying Lotus in the Roundhouse in Camden, London, which was sold out and if that’s happening then at least good music is getting through. It’s just a shame the UK mainstream is so focused on reality TV stars and nostalgic reformed bands. I suppose really though there’s almost so much choice that it is overwhelming.

Favorite venue?

In London – Corsica Studios.

Favorite concert?

This is the hardest question. I have no idea. Clubwise – Aphex Twin @ Sonar in 2003? As for a  band gig – as I am forgetting everything I am going to say Chic @ Bestival on a Sunday hangover when the sun was out listening to disco. It wasn’t the best gig I am sure, but it was what I needed right then. The ego on Nile Rodgers was a show in itself but after what he’s written that’s fair enough.

Favorite place in the world?

I was going to say somewhere like Tuscany, but really it would have to be London. I love to get away and there are better place, but I always want to come back, it’s home.

Where would you wish to wake up tomorrow?

In the southern hemisphere – somewhere. I feel like I need summer again already. Just not antartica.

Written by badpandarecords

30/04/2012 at 4:05 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment