Bad Panda Records

[BadPanda097] Fruit Flesh – Cater Gator / Cocaine

leave a comment »

Fruit Flesh is the solo project of twenty-year old Jake Tobin. It’s about Florida and people as animals as people. Think of it like a combination of Panda Bear, Sufjan Stevens and tUnE-yArDs.

A split cassette on Wonder Beard Tapes (Teen Daze, Blackbird Blackbird, Walsh, Coma Cinema, etc) is coming soon, so keep an eye to this weird psychedelic pop project, we predict exciting stuff!

Here’s to you Cater Gator and Cocaine, a brand new track finished just yesterday night!

Fruit Flesh – Cator Gator / Cocaine [zip]

01 Cator Gator [mp3]
02 Cocaine [mp3]

NEW Corrective Lenses EP!

01 Posture [mp3]
02 Corrective Lenses [mp3]
03 Event Horizon [mp3]
04 Wind – Glass [mp3]


[website]
[soundcloud]
[bandcamp]
[twitter]

Where do you live actually?

In a hot metal box in the commercial district of Tallahassee. Here’s a funny video from before I moved in and they had a lot of hard core shows. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xg_Nhe6lazM Please don’t watch the whole thing.

What is the last thing you ate?

Waffle House. Me and Kevin (Slough Louris) and KPinner ate at Waffle house last night/morning around 5am. I don’t know how we made it to Waffle House.

Your addiction ?

Cleaning my fingernails.

What do you collect?

Clothing and acquaintences.

What is your favorite word?

Meta (for Chris Lott)

One quote?

“I checked my ego at the door, bro” – Ben Varian

One movie?

A Single Man. Even though it looks like an extended perfume commercial. Colin Firth rules.

One book?

I don’t think I’ve finished a book since college, but KV’s Breakfast of Champions has always been at the top of my list. Made me cry multiple times.

Which song do you listen when you wake up?

So Vapor by Floating Action. Life altering song.

A song you wish you wrote yourself?

Right now it’s I Can’t Feel it by Ty Segall. I think Ty Segall is a genius.

The song to be played at your funeral?

Chopin’s Op 10 no 3. Followed up by DM Stith’s Braid of Voices

A song for relaxing on a beach?

Happy End by Tom Ze, definitely.

Your sunday morning track?

The Waves at Night by Phosphorescent

One website?

I am a full time graphic/web designer, and at work we keep http://ffffound.com/ open throughout the day.

What do you think about music industry?

Pop radio and celebrity obsessed mainstream music culture are a kind of a joke and I wish that was the consensus. But I suppose we’re talking somewhat exclusively about the independent music industry, and in that case, I think the blog community and the way it opens doors for musicians is rad as hell despite however much it promotes hype culture. I don’t like how a lot of music is packaged for the internet and not much effort is put into live shows. Last night at Waffle House KP was telling me about how shitty Cults is live, not because they’re not talented, but because it seems like they just don’t care. That’s really disappointing to me. It’s not a bad thing to do, not care, I’ve kind of done it myself this summer, but I’m changing that soon and playing more shows, locally and around the southeast US, practicing a ton, and maybe making it out to a few festivals up North in the winter. Holiday Shores comes to mind when I talk about this. Nathan and the dudes practice so much, and they care about it a lot. I’d like to see more people do that.

What about Creative Commons?

There’s not much to say besides yes, Creative Commons, good thing. As it pertains to my job, I kind of make a living off of open source and community cooperation. In music I haven’t been very proactive about it, but I plan to be. Changing all the licensing on my soundcloud today. I guess this Bad Panda release is my first real leap into CC.

Favorite venue?

In Tallahassee, I’m obligated to say The Farside Collective. Such a great group of people. They’re willing to take on pretty much any show no matter how last minute, and it’s completely run on volunteer work. I have some friends opening a record store near the Farside that will also host shows, and that promises to be a pretty solid venue. Out of town though, 40 Watt in Athens is a cool space.

Favourite concert?

I saw Frightened Rabbit, The Twilight Sad, and We Were Promised Jetpacks play a Scottish invasion show at CDU a couple years ago that might stand out as the best. Scott Hutchison is a dreamboat. Also, Pattern is Movement are bears live. And of course, if you’re from Florida, you can’t not like a Jane Jane Pollock show.

Favourite place on earth?

This is a strange thing, but I like my friends’ new house a lot. I’d venture to say that right now, the room where they keep the piano, that might be the best place on Earth.

Where would you wish to wake up tomorrow?

Maybe in that room, with a mimosa and a cigarette. Or maybe somewhere in the Galapagos.

Written by badpandarecords

29/08/2011 at 4:00 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment